Entertainment Sport & Outdoor Surfing Celebration of Women's Day

Surfing Celebration of Women's Day

Pin It

National Women’s Day will be celebrated by the surfing community on Thursday when the third edition of the Women’s Day Surf Challenge takes place In Cape Town and Durban.


Simultaneous events in Cape Town and Durban have attracted the cream of the country’s past and present female surf stars who are vying for prize-money and points in the SSA Pro Surf Tour ranked events. In addition aspiring up and coming surfers will not only get to compete for valuable prizes in the rookie divisions but will also use the opportunity to meet and mingle with their heroines.

Both venues feature 1A rated PST events for Open Women, Under 20 and U16’s with R2 500 in prize-money at stake in each division while the Rookies, who have not previously represented their respective Provinces or competed in a national event, will take home plenty of prizes.

Some of South Africa’s legends will be competing in both the Cape Town and Durban contests. In Cape Town current South African Champion Nikita Robb, defending Women’s Day champion Chantelle Rautenbach, multiple national champion and South African team member Tarryn Chudleigh, as well as recently crowned SA Masters Champion Tasha Mentasti, are the pick in the strong Open Division field.

The 2012 Durban winner in the Open Division is likely to be one of World Masters Champion Heather Clark, current Under 20 SA Champion Heidi Palmboom, former SA Students Champion Tammy Lee Smith or recent SA Junior team member Nicole Pallet.

The field of surfers in both the U20 and U16 Divisions in Cape Town and Durban is also packed with current champions and with plenty of prizes at stake competition should be fierce.

Surfers competing in the Cape Women’s Day Surf Challenge should meet at the Muizenberg Pavilion at 8am on Thursday, not Long Beach, Kommetjie. The Durban group are required to meet at the Bay of Plenty at 8am.

The heats and schedule for the contests will be posted on www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za on Wednesday August 8th.

See also:
Newer news items: