Entertainment Special Events 46th annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards

46th annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards

Pin It

Alan Committie
Taking place at Artscape, the prestigious awards ceremony once again boasts a stunning entertainment line-up with Alan Committee as MC and television personality Charlene Truter as co-host.

Lara Bye, a previous Fleur du Cap winner and nominee, will direct the onstage event that has been given a uniquely Capetonian vibe this year.
Audience members and nominees will be greeted on the red carpet with sparkling wine, cocktails and canapés, mingling to music by the electric cellist Judy Brown and the harpist Jane Theron.  Amongst those gracing the stage will be David Kramer and his Breyani Band, the Limited Edition Drummers, the Guguletu Tenors, Thembi Mtshali-Jones and the world champion break dance duo Jed and Duane Lawrence, also known as the Ubuntu BBoys.
The Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards is the premier event of its kind in South Africa.  At its inception in 1965 it was known as the Three Leaf Awards, becoming the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards in 1978 when it was named after one of Distell’s leading wine brands.  Every year prizes are given to outstanding individuals for theatre excellence, specifically focusing on professional theatre productions staged in the Cape Town Metropole and surrounds.  The judges are made up of local critics, journalists, writers and drama educators, who base their decisions on having viewed close to 100 productions over twelve months, in several venues in and around the city.
Each award carries a R15 000 cash prize and a silver medallion, making a 'Fleur du Cap' one of the most coveted awards in the industry. Awards are given for musicals, comedy and drama productions and the categories are as follow:  Best Performance by an Actor, Best Performance by an Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Director, Best Performance in a One-Person Show, Best New SA Script, Rosalie van der Gucht Prize for New Directors, Best Performance in a Musical, Best Design (lighting, set, costumes, props), Best Performance in a Revue or Cabaret and Most Promising Student. For a complete list of the nominees visit www.fdcawards.co.za.
Members of the public can start voting for their favourite production of 2010 by logging onto www.fdcawards.co.za and clicking on the Peoples Choice Awards icon at the top right-hand side of the home page.  Voting opens on 28 February and closes on 16 March. The winning production will receive the People's Choice Award, which will be announced at the ceremony, together with the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Award for Innovative Contribution to Theatre.  The latter will enable the judges to consider an individual, company or organisation in the theatre industry that has consistently created exceptional work, and may fall outside of the existing categories.

Venue: Artscape, DF Malan St, Cape Town. Tel: (021) 421 7695.
Time: 6:00pm
Price: R150
Performances: 20 Mar 2011
Genre: Entertainment

Newer news items: