Wine News Nederburg Wins IWSC 2012 Title

Nederburg Wins IWSC 2012 Title

Pin It

Nederburg has been crowned the 2012 International Wine & Spirit Competition (IWSC) SA Wine Producer of the Year.

The title follows Nederburg's trophy for best Sauvignon Blanc of the show won by the 2010 Private Bin D234 Sauvignon Blanc. The wine, as best in its class, also won a gold outstanding medal, the equivalent of a double gold.

Other 2012 IWSC gold outstanding Nederburg wines were the 2008 Eminence, the 2007 Eminence and the 2009 Edelkeur.

Nederburg was also recently one of the top achievers at this yearís SA National Wine Show.  In addition, cellar master, Razvan Macici, won the 2012 Diners Club Winemaker of the Year title earlier this month. Macici said the news was a spectacular way to round off 2012. "It has been a full and exciting year and we are thrilled that so many of our wines have been acknowledged across the range."

Nederburgís 2012 IWSC golds were for the 2011 Winemasterís Reserve Noble Late Harvest, a wine that is following in the footsteps of the highly celebrated 2010 vintage, as well as for the 2010, 2008 and 2007 vintages of Edelkeur.

There were seven IWSC silver outstanding medals awarded to wines across the spectrum of Nederburgís multi-tiered range as well as 13 silvers. The silver outstanding medals went to two Private Bin wines, the 2011 Manor House Sauvignon Blanc, the 2010 Winemasterís Reserve Noble Late Harvest, the 2009 Two Centuries Sauvignon Blanc, the 2010 Ingenuity White (a Platterís South African Wine Guide five-star wine), as well as the 2011 The Manor Sauvignon Blanc.